Passaic Car Accident Lawyers

Skilled Personal Injury Lawyers Represent Car Accident Victims In Passaic And Across New Jersey 

Skilled personal injury lawyers at Blume Forte Fried Zerres & Molinari are recognized throughout the state for their success in recovering the maximum compensation for car accident victims. In fact, their legal team has secured more settlements and verdicts over one million dollars than any other law firm in New Jersey. Founded in 1929, Blume Forte Fried Zerres & Molinari has been advocating for accident victims since 1963.

Experienced Attorneys Handle All Types Of Passaic Car Accident Claims 

Attorneys at Blume Forte Fried Zerres & Molinari have been protecting the rights of accident victims for more than 50 years. Our knowledgeable team has extensive experience handling a wide range of car accident claims, including:

How Can I Prove That The Other Driver Is At Fault For My Passaic Car Accident?

When you have been hurt in a car accident and are considering filing a personal injury claim, one of the first things that needs to be addressed is the issue of negligence. Negligence is the foundation for all accident claims, regardless of the type of accident. In the absence of negligence, an accident is just an accident with no one to blame.  

But how can you prove that the other driver was at fault for your car accident? 

Many behaviors can cause or contribute to a car accident. Among those negligent actions are driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) and texting while driving. Driving over the speed limit, making rapid lane changes without signaling, and failing to adhere to standard safety precautions are also negligent behaviors. 

Proving that the other driver was negligent and that their negligence caused or contributed to the car accident can be difficult. In many situations, the driver who is responsible for the accident will state that you are also to blame. If you are also partly to blame for the accident —  even in just a small way — the compensation you are entitled to receive will be negatively impacted. 

What Happens To My Compensation If I Am Partly To Blame For My Passaic Car Accident? 

If you are partly to blame for your car accident, New Jersey’s “modified comparative fault” rules dictate the level of compensation you may receive. Modified comparative fault rules state that when a driver bears some responsibility for an accident, their damage award will be reduced by an amount that reflects their level of fault for the accident. These rules sound complicated but, in fact, they are quite straightforward. 

Here is an example of how New Jersey’s modified comparative fault rules apply: It is determined that a driver is 20 percent responsible for a car accident. Their compensation will then be reduced by 20 percent, which is their share of the blame. A damage award of $50,000 would then be reduced by 20 percent — which is $10,000 —  for a total compensation of $40,000. If a driver is more than 50 percent responsible for an accident, then they will not be able to recover any damages from the other at fault driver. 

Passaic Car Accident Victims Are Entitled To Recover Compensation Under Personal Injury Law 

Victims of car accidents are entitled to recover compensation for their injuries and other losses under personal injury law. It is important to note that personal injury law only protects victims in accidents that were caused by negligence. Accident victims may recover a wide range of losses, including —  but not limited to — any of the following: 

  • Doctor bills that stem from the accident 
  • Expenses for hospital visits
  • Any anticipated future medical expenses that are the result of accident injuries 
  • Surgical costs
  • Rehabilitative treatment
  • Prescription drugs
  • X-rays, CAT scans, and other diagnostic imaging 
  • Expenses for laboratory tests
  • Lost wages
  • Loss of future earning capacity
  • Mental anguish
  • Emotional pain and suffering
  • Loss of companionship
  • Loss of life enjoyment 
  • Loss of earned sick time
  • Loss of earned vacation time

Car accident attorneys at Blume Forte Fried Zerres & Molinari have a reputation for excellence and a track record of success in recovering the maximum compensation for accident victims. 

New Jersey Legal Deadlines for Filing A Passaic Car Accident Personal Injury Claim 

Every state has legal deadlines for filing claims, known as statutes of limitations. In New Jersey,  the statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim is two years from the date of the accident. Statutes of limitations are very important deadlines; except in rare circumstances, these deadlines are non-negotiable. 

Passaic Car Accident Attorneys Have Been Serving New Jersey Families For More Than 50 Years

Accident attorneys at Blume Forte Fried Zerres & Molinari have been serving New Jersey families for more than 50 years. With a personal dedication to each case, our knowledgeable team skillfully navigates the personal injury claims process to recover the maximum compensation for our clients. Our team offers a free case evaluation, so that you can make the most informed decision possible regarding the next steps after your car accident. 

To schedule a free consultation with one of our car accident attorneys, contact our office. Founded in Newark, New Jersey, in 1929, Blume Forte Fried Zerres & Molinari has offices in four convenient New Jersey locations: Chatham, Jersey City, North Bergen, and Sea Girt. 

About Passaic, New Jersey

Passaic, New Jersey, is a city located in Passaic County and is home to approximately 70,000 residents. Situated eight miles north of Newark, New Jersey, and ten miles from New York City, Passaic is situated along the Passaic River. 

Dutch traders first settled along the river in Passaic in 1678. During the 1800s, textile and metalworking industries were established there and in 1971, Passaic was incorporated as a village. Passaic has been called the birthplace of television — in 1931, the city featured the first television station to transmit to homes.