New Jersey Distracted Driving Accident Lawyers
According to the state Attorney General, distracted driving played a role in nearly a million and a half New Jersey car accidents between 2004 and 2013. That’s about half of all accidents that happened on New Jersey’s roads during those years. This has caused state lawmakers to get tough. Our distracted driving law, NJ Rev Stat § 39:4-97.3 (2013), makes it a ticket-able offense to be caught using a hand-held phone while driving. What the state law doesn’t include is other things distracted drivers do, like eating or turning to check on the kids in the back seat.
If you or a loved one has been involved in an accident with someone you suspect was driving distracted at the time, contact a New Jersey car accident attorney at Blume Forte Fried Zerres & Molinari. We’ve helped many people who’ve been hurt in accidents with negligent drivers. Let us fight the driver who injured you and their insurance company while you heal. Contact us today at 973-845-4421.
What is Distracted Driving?
Distracted driving happens when a driver does something that takes their eyes or attention off the road. The National Highway Traffic Safety Association (NHTSA) has split distracted driving into three main categories:
- Manual Distraction: any time a driver takes their hands off the wheel
- Visual Distraction: any time a driver takes their eyes off the road
- Cognitive Distraction: any time a driver isn’t paying attention to surroundings
Common Distracted Driving Actions
Anything that distracts a driver puts them, their passengers, other cars on the road, bike riders, and pedestrians in danger. Here are the most common things people do that lead to distracted driving accidents:
- Adjusting the radio, air conditioner, or anything else in the car
- Checking phone messages
- Grooming in the rear view mirror
- Talking on the phone
- Talking to passengers
- Watching phone videos
Texting seems to be the biggest cause of distracted driving. This shouldn’t be a surprise because texting calls for the driver to use all three of the distracted driving criteria. Texting uses visual, manual, and cognitive attention.
Distracted Driving Information
- Distracted driving is the leading cause of auto accidents. (Cellphone use is the most common reason for accidents.)
- According to the NHTSA, there are about 700,000 drivers using their cellphones at any given daylight moment across the U.S.
- In 2012, there were over 400,000 injuries and nearly 3,500 deaths caused by distracted driving in the U.S.
- In New Jersey, distracted driving has been linked to over 750,000 car accidents since 2009.
- New Jersey is one of nine states that’s banned hand-held cellphone use while driving. It’s also one of three dozen states that has banned texting and driving.
- In New Jersey, a first offense for texting and driving comes with a fine between $200 and $400. Second offense fines are $400 to $600. Subsequent offenses come with max fines of $800.
- New Jersey drivers can get their license suspended for 90 days after three texting and driving offenses.
“While coming highly-recommended to me, Jeff handled a motor vehicle case wherein I sustained permanent injuries from 4 pelvic fractures. He was very upfront with me about the value of my case and he succeeded in going above and beyond to make sure I received the settlement I deserved for my injuries. Jeff’s level of expertise and professionalism surpassed even my greatest expectations.”
“I just wanted to take some time to thank you and your team for all your help in the last 3 1/2 years. Your confidence, professionalism, knowledge, and efficiency in resolving this case have been greatly appreciated by my family and I.”
“I wish to convey my esteem and admiration for your professional excellence and personal manner in dealing with me regarding my auto accident case. Your attention to detail and knowledge were impressive by any standard.”
Contact Our NJ Distracted Driving Accident Attorneys
Blume Forte Fried Zerres & Molinari has helped many people and their families who’ve been involved in distracted driving accidents. Over the years, we’ve helped them secure settlements that helped to pay for medical bills, property damage, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
We can be reached at 973-845-4421.
- New Jersey Distracted Driving – It’s Not Just Cellphones
- Distracted Driving
- Distracted Driving – NHTSA
Frequently Asked Questions About New Jersey Distracted Driving Accidents
The Blume Forte attorneys get paid from contingency fees. A contingency fee is a percentage of your reward money the lawyer receives if the case is won. This allows you to have little risk when taking your claim to court. Our firm also offers a free initial consultation to discuss the details of your claim. The lawyer will inform you of any other fees and costs associated with hiring a lawyer.
Being involved in a distracted driving accident is scary, so it’s important to take the appropriate steps to ensure you receive fair compensation. Contact the police right after the accident so you have a police report for future records. Get the appropriate medical treatment for your injuries. Collect contact information from any witnesses of the accident. This is important for proving who was at fault in your accident. Contact an experienced personal injury attorney who will fight for you to get the compensation you deserve.
To figure out what your case might be worth you have to look at the damages you’ve suffered. If you were seriously injured or lost a loved one, you can expect to receive significant compensation. Other common damages include:
– pain and suffering
– lost wages
– loss of future income
– medical expenses
– permanent injury
If you want a clearer picture of what your case might be worth, contact an experienced personal injury lawyer. They will be able to look over your case and give you an accurate estimate.