New Jersey Rideshare Accident Lawyers
Ride-Share Accident Attorneys Advocate for Clients Injured in Ridesharing Vehicles Throughout New Jersey
Accidents involving ride-share vehicles like Uber and Lyft are different from traditional motor vehicle accidents and can leave you feeling uncertain and even angry—after all, in many cases, you may not even have been driving when you were injured in by a rideshare vehicle. Questions about the application of New Jersey’s “no-fault” law in cases involving rideshare accidents are common.
Our personal injury lawyers at Blume Forte are dedicated to developing an in-depth understanding of all of the new legal requirements that can apply in rideshare accident cases. We are committed to crafting advanced legal strategies designed to ensure that you are fully compensated for your injuries in all cases involving rideshare drivers—whether you were the passenger in the ride service vehicle, a driver in another car in the accident, or even hit by a rideshare vehicle as a pedestrian.
If you have sustained injuries in an accident involving a rideshare driver, contact Blume Forte for an explanation of the variances in insurance law rules that may open additional avenues for obtaining compensation in your case. We are committed to protecting your rights in these cases and will fight to ensure you are fully compensated for all of your expenses, both current and future.
What Makes Rideshare Accidents Unique?
On their face, rideshare accidents may appear to be the same as any other type of motor vehicle accident. While they are similar in many ways, the New Jersey legislature has created an entirely new law that applies when a motor vehicle accident involves a rideshare driver. Under the new law, rideshare drivers are subject to a specific set of insurance requirements that impose different insurance rules depending upon whether or not the driver is carrying a passenger at the time of the accident. In general, the rules require:
- Passenger present in vehicle. When a rideshare driver is carrying a passenger, he or she is required to purchase insurance that will cover up to $1.5 million in bodily injury, property damage or death, as well as $10,000 worth of medical coverage.
- Looking for passenger. If the rideshare driver does not have a passenger in the car, but has his or her app operating so that they are looking for a passenger, the new law requires $50,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per person, $100,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per accident, and $25,000 in property damage coverage.
- Rideshare app is turned off. If the driver’s rideshare app is turned off so that he or she is not actively seeking work, the new insurance requirements do not apply and the driver’s own personal insurance policy must cover damages.
These rules essentially exempt rideshare accidents from New Jersey’s no-fault insurance rule, which typically requires accident victims to look to their own insurance coverage for compensation even if they were not at fault for the accident.
Of course, these new insurance coverage requirements are not all that make a rideshare accident unique. In these cases, it can be difficult to determine who is actually liable for the damages, which is why the new insurance requirements were developed in the first place.
Why Retain Blume Forte to Protect Your Rights Following a Rideshare Accident?
Despite the generous insurance coverage requirements that apply in rideshare accidents, these limits may be insufficient to provide full compensation in more severe accident cases. In other cases, the insurance companies may contest the claim in order to minimize their liability following an accident. At Blume Forte, our experienced team of personal injury lawyers works tirelessly to ensure you are fairly compensated and will fight to win compensation for:
- Current and past medical expenses,
- Future costs of rehabilitative care and ongoing medical treatment,
- Psychological and emotional damage,
- Pain and suffering,
- Lost earnings, as well as loss of future earning capacity,
- Lost consortium or support, if the accident resulted in a tragic death.
Our lawyers have the experience, skills, and resources necessary to fight for your right to compensation following a rideshare accident. We have several decades’ worth of experience fighting to successfully negotiate and win multi-million dollar compensation packages for our clients, and we leave no stone unturned in protecting your financial future.
“While coming highly-recommended to me, Jeff handled a motor vehicle case wherein I sustained permanent injuries from 4 pelvic fractures. He was very upfront with me about the value of my case and he succeeded in going above and beyond to make sure I received the settlement I deserved for my injuries. Jeff’s level of expertise and professionalism surpassed even my greatest expectations.”
“I just wanted to take some time to thank you and your team for all your help in the last 3 1/2 years. Your confidence, professionalism, knowledge, and efficiency in resolving this case have been greatly appreciated by my family and I.”
“I wish to convey my esteem and admiration for your professional excellence and personal manner in dealing with me regarding my auto accident case. Your attention to detail and knowledge were impressive by any standard.”
Contact an Aggressive and Trustworthy Personal Injury Attorney to Protect Your Rights Today
If you have sustained injuries in an accident involving a rideshare driver, contact our dedicated team of personal injury lawyers via our online form today. We offer a free initial consultation to all of our potential clients and are ready and waiting to go to work protecting your right to compensation for all of your expenses and suffering. For your convenience, we have offices located throughout New Jersey in Chatham, Jersey City, Sea Girt, and North Bergen.
Frequently Asked Questions About Rideshare Accident Claims in New Jersey
Because New Jersey has created a new set of rules to govern rideshare accidents, if you were a passenger in a ridesharing vehicle and injured in an accident, you can make a claim against the required insurance policy that these vehicles are now required to carry. This is an exception from the general rule in New Jersey that drivers first look to their own insurance carrier to cover their expenses.
The new rideshare laws do not apply to traditional taxi services. As a result, the insurance coverage requirements that apply to taxi drivers remain much lower, at $15,000 for bodily injury per person and $30,000 of liability insurance per accident.