Bayonne Slip And Fall Accident Lawyers
Results-Driven Personal Injury Attorneys Advocate For Slip And Fall Accident Victims in Bayonne And Across New Jersey
When you have sustained an injury in a slip and fall accident, your life can quickly turn upside down. Your priority is to recover and get your life back on track as soon as possible. The personal injury attorneys at Blume Forte Fried Zerres & Molinari help you do just that.
For more than five decades, our results-driven personal injury attorneys have successfully advocated for accident victims throughout New Jersey. Blume Forte Fried Zerres & Molinari has secured more settlements and verdicts over one million dollars for our clients than any other law firm in New Jersey and is recognized as one of the most successful personal injury law firms in the state.
Proving Fault In A Bayonne Slip And Fall Accident Claim
Under personal injury law, when someone’s negligent actions result in another person being harmed, the negligent party can be held responsible. Personal injury law protects accident victims of all types, including those who were injured in slip and fall accidents, providing a mechanism to recover compensation for your injuries and other losses.
Negligence must be proven and that can be quite challenging. In most accident cases, the responsible party will argue that the injured victim shares some of the blame for the accident. To refute that argument, and demonstrate that your accident was caused by another person’s negligence, it is best to consult with an experienced slip and fall accident attorney regarding your case.
What Happens If I Am Partly At Fault For My Bayonne Slip And Fall Accident?
When more than one party shares responsibility for an accident, New Jersey follows special rules. New Jersey is a “modified comparative fault” state, meaning that the compensation an injured victim may receive will be reduced based on their level of fault.
For example, if it is determined that you are 15 percent responsible for your slip and fall accident, then the compensation you may recover will be reduced by 15 percent. So a damage award of $20,000 will be reduced by $3,000 — which is 15 percent — for a total award of $17,000. If, however, it is determined that you share more than 50 percent of the responsibility for your slip and fall accident, then you may not recover any compensation from the other responsible party.
“Words cannot express how tremendously grateful I am to Jeff Zenna for his sincere compassion and legal assistance during one of the most challenging times in my life.”
“I just wanted to take some time to thank you and your team for all your help in the last 3 1/2 years. Your confidence, professionalism, knowledge, and efficiency in resolving this case have been greatly appreciated by my family and I. ”
“You exhibited a genuine caring for my predicament and the outcome. These are all qualities that are prized in any professional relationship.”
Legal Deadlines For Filing A Bayonne Slip And Fall Accident Claim
There are time limits for filing a legal claim, which are known as statutes of limitations. Each state sets their own statutes of limitations based on the underlying claim. For a personal injury claim — such as for a slip and fall accident — New Jersey’s statute of limitations is two years from the time of the accident. Claims that are filed after this two-year deadline will be dismissed by the court.
Do You Have Questions Regarding Your Slip And Fall Accident Claim? Receive A Free Case Evaluation With An Experienced Bayonne Slip and Fall Accident Attorney
When you or a loved one has fallen down the stairs, slipped on a step, or been involved in another type of slip and fall accident, you may be wondering what to do next. Should you speak to the property owner who is responsible? Can you recover any compensation for your injuries? Should you file an accident claim?
At Blume Forte Fried Zerres & Molinari, we know how overwhelming and confusing the aftermath of an accident can be and we are here to answer your questions. Our firm has been protecting accident victims throughout New Jersey for more than five decades. Our respected accident attorneys are recognized as Super Lawyers and among The Best Lawyers in America. Our firm is recognized as one of the most successful personal injury law firms in New Jersey.
Blume Forte Fried Zerres & Molinari offers a free case evaluation for your slip and fall accident claim, where a member of our team will discuss your case, answer your questions, and explain your available options. To schedule a confidential consultation with an experienced slip and fall accident attorney at Blume Forte Fried Zerres & Molinari, contact our office.
Founded in Newark, New Jersey, in 1929, Blume Forte Fried Zerres & Molinari has offices in four convenient New Jersey locations including Chatham, Jersey City, North Bergen, and Sea Girt.
About Bayonne, New Jersey
Bayonne, New Jersey is located in Hudson County, in the northeastern part of the state, and is home to 66,400 residents. Located in the Gateway region, the city of Bayonne sits atop a three-mile peninsula that is located between Newark Bay and New York Bay. Bayonne is connected to Staten Island and New York City via a bridge over the Kill Van Kull.
Bayonne was settled by the Dutch in 1646 and was incorporated as a city in 1869. Renowned for its yacht building from 1850 until World War I, Bayonne has also been a center for oil refining since 1875. Bayonne now serves as the northern terminus for several pipeline systems, and is home to shipyards and extensive docks along its nine-mile waterfront.
Frequently Asked Questions About Bayonne Slip And Fall Accidents
The personal injury lawyers at Blume Forte work on a contingency basis. We will only collect fees if compensation is recovered from your slip and fall case. This allows you to not have to worry about paying any upfront costs. Your first consultation to speak with a lawyer is free. During the consultation, your lawyer will discuss other possible fees and costs.
If you believe someone else’s negligence caused your slip and fall accident, it’s important to take the appropriate steps afterward. Here are three things you should do after suffering a slip and fall:
1. Document the accident by reporting it to the property owner or manager. You may have to fill out a slip and fall incident report form.
2. Get medical attention soon after the accident. Slip and fall treatment varies because victims can suffer so many different types of injuries, but the quicker you seek help, the better.
3. Speak to a lawyer for slip and fall accidents about your legal rights as soon as possible. Waiting even a matter of days could undermine your claim if the delay allows property owners to misplace or intentionally cover up evidence such as video surveillance footage.
When a property owner’s negligence results in a slip and fall accident, personal injury law protects the injured victim. The injured party can file a personal injury claim in the civil court system, seeking compensation for their losses. These losses — known as damages — may include any of the following:
– Medical treatment expenses
– Cost of prescription medication
– Bills for surgical procedures
– Bills for hospital stays
– Cost of rehabilitation
– Expenses for X-rays, medical scans, and lab work
– Expected future medical costs from the slip and fall accident
– Loss of wages
– Loss of earned sick time
– Lost earned vacation time
– Loss of your life enjoyment
– Loss of companionship
When assigning a value to those losses that are immeasurable, such as the loss of one’s enjoyment of life or the loss of companionship, the New Jersey court considers various factors to determine and assign a monetary value.