A new law now requires that New Jersey drivers come to a complete stop for pedestrians in crosswalks. Simply “yielding” to pedestrians is no longer adequate. The Cape May County Herald reports that the change in this traffic law was spurred by the high rate of pedestrian “knock down” accidents in New Jersey. The new law removes confusion surrounding what the term “yield” means. Many drivers tend to slow down or simply roll through yield signs when pedestrians are present. Under the newly revised law, a full stop will be required by the driver if a pedestrian is walking into or through the intersection. Fines for violators will range between $100 and $200.
There are approximately 150 pedestrian accident fatalities in New Jersey each year (click here for more information). The new law is an attempt to bring those high numbers down. The law also imparts more liability on the drivers, as it is designed to hold drivers culpable for not paying attention to pedestrian presence.
For pedestrian accident victims, medical expenses, lost wages and other costs can add up fast. If a negligent driver has caused you harm, it is important to seek legal assistance to determine if you may be entitled to compensation for your physical injuries and economic losses.
If you or a loved one has been injured or killed in a New Jersey pedestrian accident, the experienced personal injury lawyers at Blume Forte can provide you with a no-cost consultation and a thorough evaluation of your potential claim. Call us today at 973-635-5400.